Can the iPhone 18 Pro run local AI models?
Yes—especially for compact 3B and 4B models. Apple has now announced the iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max with A20 Pro, a Dual 16-core Neural Engine, and vapor-chamber cooling. Apple still does not disclose physical RAM, so the 12GB figure and exact model-fit guidance remain provisional.
If the reported 12GB capacity is correct, both Pro models should handle compact 3B–4B Q4 models and may run selected 7B–8B Q4 builds. This is a capacity estimate, not a measured local-LLM benchmark. Apple confirms the chip and cooling system but does not publish physical RAM, usable app memory, absolute memory bandwidth, or sustained token speed.
What could fit in 12GB?
iOS and the inference app share that memory, so model-file size cannot consume the full physical capacity. These ranges assume a modern 4-bit GGUF and moderate context; multimodal projectors and long context need more.
| Model class | Typical Q4 weights | Expected result | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3B–4B | ~2–3GB | Likely practical | Leaves useful room for iOS, runtime buffers and context. |
| 7B–8B | ~4.5–5.5GB | Possible, but verify | Capacity may fit; speed, context and app memory limits remain unknown. |
| 12B–14B | ~7.5–9GB | Not a safe recommendation | Loaded weights plus OS, KV cache and runtime overhead can exceed usable memory. |
| Vision models | varies | Extra headroom required | The projector and image embeddings add memory beyond the language weights. |
Official and reported specifications
| Item | Current evidence | Confidence |
|---|---|---|
| Product lineup | Apple officially announced iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max on September 9, 2026. | High |
| Processor | Apple confirms A20 Pro with a 6-core CPU, 7-core GPU, and Dual 16-core Neural Engine. | High |
| Physical RAM | Supply-chain reporting points to 12GB for both Pro sizes; Apple does not disclose RAM capacity. | Medium |
| Memory bandwidth | Apple says memory bandwidth increased, but gives no absolute bandwidth, memory generation, or bus width. | Medium |
| Cooling | Apple confirms a vapor chamber integrated into the aluminum unibody. | High |
| Availability | Preorders begin September 11, with availability from September 18 in more than 65 countries and regions. | High |
The standard iPhone 18 is a different release
Current reporting places the regular iPhone 18 and iPhone 18e in spring 2027, potentially with A20 and 9GB RAM. This page covers the fall 2026 Pro and Pro Max models and should not be used as a specification page for the later standard phone.
Check the foldable iPhone Duo local AI outlook →Sources and evidence
FAQ
How much RAM does the iPhone 18 Pro have?
Apple does not list physical RAM in its technical specifications. Current supply-chain reporting points to 12GB for the iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max, but that figure still needs confirmation from a reliable teardown or device query.
Can the iPhone 18 Pro run a 7B model locally?
A 7B or 8B model in a roughly 4.5–5.5GB Q4 build may fit within a 12GB phone, but usable app memory, context length and thermals decide whether it is practical. Treat this as a likely capacity fit, not a speed promise.
Will the iPhone 18 Pro use LPDDR6?
It is not settled. Some leaks claim LPDDR6 and a wider interface; other reporting says LPDDR5X. We are withholding bandwidth and tokens-per-second estimates until Apple or a reliable teardown confirms the shipped memory.
Is the iPhone 18 Pro official?
Yes. Apple announced the iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max on September 9, 2026, with availability beginning September 18 in the first wave of markets.